Delicious Delicious Poutine.

Ooooh, poutine. You crazy Canadian concoction, you. I remember heading up to Calgary for a business trip a few years ago, and hearing about poutine while preparing to leave. Because I was frantically packing (and, as a vegetarian, make it a general rule to avoid anything that requires gravy), I didn’t pay much attention – until I found myself in the Calgary airport lusting after a coworker’s fast-food poutine secured from A&W. And I can count the number of times I’ve positively salivated over fast-food anything on one hand.

Poutine really is the ultimate comfort food. The combo of crispy fried potatoes, hearty gravy, perfectly-sized cheese curds definitely gives mac and cheese a run for its money, although I’m sure some evil genius somewhere has already combined the two (and clogged many arteries in the process).

{ Potato Champion poutine. }

One of the nice things about living in Portland now is the ability to easily secure poutine whenever I want. My personal favorite is Potato Champion, a food truck usually parked on the Southeast side of town, which offers both vegetarian and vegan options. (I’ve mentioned their awesome poutine before). And, lucky me, they tend to make appearances at local events, too. I’m much more likely to accompany Matt to a beer festival if I can get some poutine in the process!

Cheese. Gravy. Fries. So easy, so delicious.

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
Aside | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delicious Delicious Poutine.

  1. Mary says:

    This vegetarian will also make an exception for poutine. Absolutely love it. I’ll have to stop by the next time I’m in Portland — in just a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

