Anatomical Hearts

I carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart) I am never without it (anywhere I go you go, my dear; and whatever is done by only me is your doing, my darling)…”

e. e. Cummings

It’s almost Valentine’s Day, if you couldn’t tell from all the jewelry ads that have been incessantly running on t.v. since the end of Christmas. I’m definitely looking forward to getting my more innocuous commercials back after this holiday is over, especially because I don’t buy into any of those this-is-really-meaningful-because-we-say-it-is jewelry designs… don’t even get me started on the ‘open hearts’ thing (I mean really, it makes me think of open relationships whenever I hear about/see them, and that’s not what I want my jewelry to symbolize).

But this… this I can get behind.

{ White Bronze Anatomical Heart Locket from Peggy Skemp Jewelry, via Etsy. $200 }

There’s something so timeless (and un-fad-y) about the anatomical heart, especially when done as a small token to give to a significant other. I feel like this piece definitely embodies the classic e.e. cummings poem above, especially if it were given with a heart-felt message inside the locket.

{ Anatomical Heart Necklace from Lost Apostle, via Etsy. }

This one has the same thought behind it, but without the locket function – still a fun twist on the traditional Valentine’s Day gift. Lost Apostle also has some other pretty awesome charms and necklaces to offer as well (I’m especially digging the winged pigs) – definitely pop over for a visit!

{ Heart in a Jar from Kiva Ford, via Etsy. $95.00 }

Not in to wearing anatomically correct charms? There are cute versions in miniature cloches from Kiva Ford that would go nicely on a desk at work or a small vignette at home.  They also sell super cute pink brains, too. You could get a collection for your beau – especially pertinent if they’re in the medical field.

{ Anatomical Heart Letterpress Card from Steel Petal Press, via Etsy. $4.00 }

Honestly, I don’t really care about getting Valentine’s Day presents… and don’t really give them. What I appreciate more is a lovely card – handmade is especially awesome – with a personal note from the sender. This anatomical heart card would definitely be a keepsake for my bulletin board, perhaps next to the text of e.e. cummings’ famous poem. You could even buy a rubber stamp and make your own cards with anatomical hearts on them.

So I’m sticking to real hearts for Valentine’s Day this year – as well as real sentiment – for the people I love. They will be able to carry my heart with theirs. And thank goodness for Etsy!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

