Apple Picking Weekend

Matt and I went apple picking this weekend!  It was beautiful out, and a perfect day to get out of the apartment and venture a ways out of town to get some fresh produce straight from the trees.  There were also signs for pears and pumpkins, but we were focused on apples.

We headed out with two friends to Hansen’s Orchard in Greenbluff for some prime apple pickin’.  In my mind we chose their orchard because they had the cutest sign; in reality, it was for their cider press (which they weren’t running that day anyway, but whatever!).

But, being the wine lover that I am, I obviously got really distracted by the large grape trellises all over the place before we could even start with the apples.  These things were huge, even completely dwarfing Matt!  I wanted to pick some, but figured that claiming to have mistaken grapes for apples wouldn’t go over so well. 🙂

Lots of varieties to choose from!  Galas are my favorite, so I knew we’d have to get a bunch of those, but we decided to get a mixture of the rest.  Unfortunately, immediately after this my camera (battery) died, so you don’t get to see the Charlie Brown apple trees and the new variety we discovered (aptly entitled “Winter Banana”).  We had fun, I got stuck in a tree, bucket jokes happened, etc.

Trust me to be the one that’s been looking forward to Fall photo ops all week and then chooses that morning to not charge my battery.

We ended up coming home with a box full of 10 pounds of apples and a bottle of wine.  What, you didn’t know that bottles of wine grow in apple orchards?  Okay, so they don’t, but the Townshend tasting room happened to be on our way back to the city.  We stopped in to taste a few wines and pick up a bottle of one of my favorites (Townshend T3 is one of the best reds I’ve ever had, hands down).

A good time was had by all while outside celebrating the harvest season.  It was definitely a fun way to spend a beautiful Saturday morning/early afternoon – probably one of the last ones we’ll have. 😦  I’m definitely going to miss this early Fall weather when it comes to an end!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Picking Weekend

  1. Joelle says:

    I keep seeing people going apple picking these days, and I really want to go! I don’t think that we have any places around here though 😦 but you liked you had an awesome time!

    And I hope you have a fabulous week my dear!

    xoxoxo,
    Joelle

Leave a Reply

