Madeleine’s for Brunch

I didn’t have work today, so I took advantage of my free morning to indulge in something I don’t do often ever on the weekdays: brunch out.  And in Spokane, there’s no better place for weekday brunch than Madeleine’s.

There’s something very comforting about having your morning coffee in an actual cup.  It always makes me feel immediately relaxed – like I’m at home enjoying my brunch instead of sitting in the window of a cafe on a busy street. To-go cups always make me feel like I should be rushing off somewhere and attending to important things, but the only thing I want to attend to is what’s on my plate!

And Madeleine’s fruit tarts are to. do. for.  I don’t know what the put in the custard of these things, but I swear it’s addicting.  They’re a light, fresh, perfect-for-summer brunch option.

I personally believe that ambiance is quite important when indulging in a fruit tart and calling in brunch.  I’m glad that Madeleine’s states its support for my brunch choices up front.

If you want actual food, they have a pretty awesome menu, too.  I can personally attest to the fact that the breakfast potatoes are amazing.  Also, I may go back to get crepes on Friday (and a fruit tart, obviously).

Coupled with the free wifi and bright, sunny windows, I could spend a whole day here eating my way through the world of French pastries and working on stuff.  Weekday brunch may have to become a weekly event.

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Madeleine’s for Brunch

  1. Rachel says:

    I could go for a Madeleine’s tart right about now!

    Also, have I ever mentioned that I oddly hate drinking coffee out of a real mug? Your logic behind why you prefer it is solid – I’m just sort of anal about the temperature and feel the heat escapes more quickly from a mug!

    • Becca says:

      You have never mentioned that before! I totally understand, though. I secretly love luke-warm coffee, so that’s probably why it works for me.

      Guess we’re coffee opposites! Now get back here so we can drink wine together again!

  2. Karen says:

    Sounds like a great place to go. Too bad it’s sooo far away. I will put it on my list when we travel to your lovely state.

    • Becca says:

      Karen, if you ever make it to Washington, do make sure to come over to the east side of the state! It’s definitely great over here – Madeleine’s is just the beginning. 😀

Leave a Reply

