“Weekend” Cleanse

I’ve had an article entitled “Weekend Detox” from the May/June 2009 issue of Vegetarian Times clipped and in my magazine binder for a couple of years now, but have never had the chance to try it out.  I had the combination of a terrible weekend of eating and complete lack of exercise, as well as the epiphany that as a stay-at-home-wife that works a few hours in the service industry every week my weekend is truly on Monday and Tuesday; as a result, I’m steaming a sweet potato and sipping on some hot lemon water for breakfast this morning.

Image source.

I’m not a big believer in cleanses, just because it seems that most of them want you to drink their (very expensive, and usually with some questionable ingredients) particular brand of juice, or come up with weird concoctions like cayenne pepper and maple syrup to add to everything.  I think that’s why this particular article really resonated with me – this cleanse consists of lots and lots of steamed and fresh veggies, an emphasis on drinking water, and the encouragement to do some yoga and go for walks.  Sounds more like a health spa weekend to me than a taxing series of liquids to choke down!

Here’s what this little adventure entails:

For the next two days, do the following each day:

  • Eat a breakfast of steamed veggies with minimal seasoning (no salt!) – I’ll be adding some cinnamon to my sweet potato when it’s done!
  • Eat a giant salad for lunch with as many fresh veggies as you can find and dress it with lemon juice, olive oil, and some garlic
  • Eat more salad and cooked lentils (with some cayenne for spice) for dinner
  • Drink 8 oz of lemon water at least 8 times throughout the day, and some chamomile tea before bed time
  • Go for a long walk outside
  • Hit up a yoga class
  • Read an engaging book (I’m currently reading AJ Jacobs’ The Know-It-All, which definitely fits the bill)
It’s also recommended that you get a massage (DUH, the real reason I’m doing this!), sit in a sauna, and take an epsom salts bath, doing each at least once during the weekend.
So I woke up today feeling groggy, bloated, and with my stomach making all kinds of interesting noises (is that TMI? it was just rumbling a lot, not doing anything gross) – which, after a weekend where every day literally contained a giant plate of cream-soaked pasta and lots of wine, is probably not surprising.  I’m hoping that Wednesday morning will find me in a different physical state, and maybe with a bit more energy, too.  So bring on the fresh veggies and buckets of water, I’m ready!
About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

