The Start of Summer

Though the temperatures are still ridiculously low and the weather is more reminiscent of a Seattle fall than a Spokane summer (nary an 80 degree day has been seen around these parts yet), it’s nice to be officially on summer vacation for the first time since I graduated from college.

In Bellingham last weekend.

Sure, I’m still stressing out about that three-hour calculus final I took was subjected to last week, and the hours and responsibilities at my summer job are picking up, but I feel beyond lucky that I can say that at least three days a week I can amble to the local coffee shop and read a book for the better part of the morning.  The ability to attend Thursday farmers markets doesn’t hurt, either!  And while yes, I do have applications to write and GREs to study for, I plan on doing a lot of socializing and relaxing during the better part of this summer.

And weddings! Oh lord, the weddings – complete with the bridal showers, and the bachelorette parties, and the rehearsal dinners… it’ll all be grand and hopefully get us out of town and seeing some new places.  And of course I’ll be bringing my favorite birthday present and capturing moments (and model shots of my family, ha) to look back on it all.

We started out the summer with a whirlwind trip to Bellingham last weekend, where we celebrated my sister’s graduation from college with my family and enjoyed some sunshine over the bay (hear that Spokane? Bellingham has more sunshine than you so far – get to work).  We ate some food, saw some sights, did some celebrating and called it a weekend.  It was so nice to be out of town and living the life for a while.

My sister in her graduation gown.  What’d I tell you? Model shots.

It’s going to be a fun summer!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

