Teal Glitter Easter Eggs

I’ve been thinking a lot about Easter this year – last year, Easter fell into the time-suck between my Masters thesis defense and the wedding, and basically every year before that Easter turned into a hybrid birthday celebration for me with my family.  This year, Matt and I are doing it alone, and spending our first married Easter at home – which means its time to bust out the bunnies and ham (er… or vegetarian alternatives to ham)!

First up – Easter eggs.  I’ve seen some amazing things being done with Easter eggs across the internet, but this basket of glitter eggs really inspired me.  Paired with pastels and bunnies, these totally shout “Easter!”; but they’re versatile enough that they could also be used in other decor items during other times of the year without that Easter vibe.  So yesterday, I spent the majority of the day with my hands covered in glitter and craft glue, constructing an almost-dozen of my own.

Required materials: wooden eggs, turquoise glitter, tacky glue, foam brush, paint brush, wax paper, and optional shiny-finish Modge Podge.

There are lots of instructions that other people have put online that explain putting these together a lot better than I can, so I defer to them for their processes.

A couple of things to note: I decided to go with wooden eggs for several reasons – I didn’t want to inadvertently eat any glitter when trying to bust open one of the hardboiled eggs, because you know that would end up happening, and edible glitter is much more expensive than regular glitter.  I also wanted something reusable that I could keep and use throughout the year (or next Easter), so real eggs didn’t really fit the bill.

I also added a coat of Modge Podge (using the foam brush) after the eggs had dried and the extra glitter had been brushed off.  If you use glitter a lot (like I do) you know that it can still end up getting everywhere even if you think you have it firmly secured.   The Modge Podge helps it stay put for evaaaah.

Throw these bad boys in a basket with some green paper grass, and you have a bright, vibrant, reusable set of glitter Easter eggs.

I can’t wait to put the rest of my Easter table together – bunnies and all!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Teal Glitter Easter Eggs

  1. These are totally awesome. I especially love the color of glitter you chose. 😀

    • Becca says:

      Thanks! I’m pretty in love with them, too. I used Martha Stewart glitter in Turquoise, and it worked very nicely.

      And thanks for the tweet/fbook post, too! 😀

  2. robbi says:

    great!!!! do you find the glitter looses a bit of it’s glimmer after podging?? I am a glitter freak!! check out my custom letters, but anytime I’ve tried to seal the glitter so it doesn’t go everywhere, the sealing dulls the glitter..have you had this issue?

    • Becca says:

      It did *change* the shine of the glitter for sure – I’ve found that if I use something that has a shiny finish it helps keep the overall project eye-catching even if it’s not quite the same as it was before. I used gloss-finish Mod Podge and was very happy with this particular glitter project. 😀

    • Holly says:

      To fix this, I will first use Mod Podge to glue the glitter to the egg and then to keep the glitter on the top from flaking everywhere, I will just spray it with some aerosol hairspray. It is pretty tacky, and will keep the loose pieces intact.

  3. anna says:

    oh i love these eggs! and my kids will too 🙂

Leave a Reply

