Miss America

I’m turning of my tv and computer at exactly 6pm tonight, and cutting myself off from all forms of communication until 9pm.  Why? Because I live on the west coast, and tonight the 90th Miss America pageant is being broadcast “live” to the east coast at 6pm PST – I don’t want to risk having the end result spoiled!

I watch every Miss America pageant religiously every year, and have for as long as I can remember.  One of the more distinct memories that I have from my early elementary years is being in Washington, D.C. on a business trip with my mom and watching the pageant in our hotel room after a day of exploring the capital.  There was something about the glitz, the glamor, and (at especially during the early ’90s) the big hair that was completely hypnotizing.

Cut to 2006, when I found myself going “Why not?” and entering a local Miss America preliminary with 3 college friends.  Bring on the waxing, hair-did-ing, and clear heels! we said.  Sure, by the end it had basically turned into a giant sociology experiment (and continues to be one of the best party stories I have in my arsenal), but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t pretty fun.  In my personal opinion, the pageant world takes itself a lot less seriously and is much more of a sisterhood than outsiders think.

In the (now defunct) Casual Wear competition.

Though my days as a pageant girl were confined to that one pageant – and are loooong gone – I have been known to host a mean Miss America party, complete with ballots for Top 10, Top 5, and prizes for whoever guesses the most correctly.  Usually there’s a corresponding drinking game and sashes.  Classy, right?  Occasionally I even trick guy friends into watching Miss USA or Miss Universe with me – they can claim to not like it, but I know they secretly do.

So who will Miss America 2010, Caressa Cameron, crown as her successor tonight?

Source.

I honestly don’t know with this year’s bunch.  There are a lot of amazing women in the Class of 2011 (including Miss Washington), and I can’t wait to find out.  Hopefully no one spoils it for me!

Hope you all have a fantastic Saturday evening!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

