On My “To Read” List

My wonderful husband gave me a Nook for Christmas, and I’ve been agonizing over the books to buy and upload to it.  I plan to mostly read during runs on the treadmill and other cross-training while I continue marathon training through the spring, so I’ll probably need a lot of them!

Here’s what’s on my To Read list in the near future:

The Privileges, by Jonathan Dee

This book has been on my “to read” list since the New York Times named it one of the best books of 2010.  It’s billed as basically a character study of the lives of a stereotypical rich suburban family, complete with a hedge-fund manager husband.  I love books like this where you just get completely lost in the characters and suddenly the novel is over.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Next, Stieg Larsson

Anyone who hasn’t heard of these books recently must be living under a rock.  I finished the first one and enjoyed it, and the second one was my first purchase for my Nook yesterday.  Plus, let’s be honest, I’m a sucker for crime mysteries (which totally explains my Law & Order addiction) and anything Swedish, and these are finally a combination of the two!

Committed, by Elizabeth Gilbert

I’d be lying if I said that I loved Eat Pray Love, but I did like Elizabeth Gilbert’s writing style.  And, as a recently married woman, I’m interested to read about her foray into her second marriage with what sounds like the Brazilian man from the end of Eat Pray Love.  I’ll be honest, though – if I can easily get this book from the library, I’ll probably do that instead of shelling out the premium for it on an eReader.

Strides, by Benjamin Cheever

And finally, what kind of book list would this be without at least one book about running?  I’ve been meaning to pick this book up for years (literally) and have never gotten around to it.  Plus, reading about running while running? Totally meta.

So that’s what I’ll hopefully be reading in the near future. Feel free to give me any recommendations!

About Becca

Wife. Runner. Baker. Pretzel-maker. Hey, that rhymes!
This entry was posted in Home, Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

